Why do nltools Brain_Data classes always have 238955 voxels?

I’m new to fMRI data and am just trying to get a feel for the structure of data. I’ve followed some of the dart brains tutorials and have been looking into a dataset that I’m interested in. I was totally confused to see that for all the different datasets that I look at, the number of voxels is always 235955. This is despite the the dimensions of the images (as far as i can ascertain) being much bigger - for example around 90 x 100 x 90 or larger. Can anyone explain why this is? Thanks!

Hi @Steve_Sizzou and welcome to neurostars!

There isn’t really enough information here for us to answer this. Some things that could help are links to the datasets, a description of the data, and code you are using to analyze the data and get that 235955 figure. One possibility is that you are only looking at voxels in a brain mask (that is, only at places where there is a brain) and ignoring the non-brain areas.

Best,
Steven

Hi @Steven Thanks for the fast reply! of course this needs an example, sorry for my low effort post haha Here is an example of my conundrum with data from the Dart brains course, and the data from the study forrest project.

import os
import glob
import datalad.api as dl
from bids import BIDSLayout
import nibabel as nib
from nltools.data import Brain_Data

#################################################
# example from the dartbrains course

localizer_path = 'dartbrains_data/Localizer'
#dl.clone(source='https://gin.g-node.org/ljchang/Localizer', path=localizer_path)
ds = dl.Dataset(localizer_path)

file_list = glob.glob(os.path.join(localizer_path, '*', 'fmriprep', 'sub*'))
# need to drop "dartbrains_data/Localizer" from the paths
for k in range(0, len(file_list)):
    file_list[k] = file_list[k].replace('dartbrains_data/Localizer/', '')

file_list.sort()
for f in file_list[:2]:
    result = ds.get(f)

layout = BIDSLayout(localizer_path, derivatives=True)

sub = 'S01'