Asl_calib increases perfusion voxel values by a factor of 10. Am I missing a step?

Summary of what happened:

I have a pCASL perfusion-weighted image and M0 calibration image from a GE scanner that I am trying to calibrate using asl_calib.

The output is nonsensical: the calibrated image, while visually (nearly) identical to the uncalibrated image, has cortical intensities that are over 2000. (the uncalibrated image has cortical intensities that are over 150)

As I am somewhat new to ASL preprocessing, I was curious if one of the community could potentially clarify what might be causing this 10-fold increase in voxel intensity? From what I have read, typical cortical CBF should be under 100 ml per 100 g per minute.

Command used (and if a helper script was used, a link to the helper script or the command generated):

So far, I’ve followed these processing steps:

1. N4BiasFieldCorrection on T1w-MPRAGE
  2. bet with -R flag on bias-corrected T1w-MPRAGE
  3. Produce asl2struct matrix using asl_reg
    • asl_reg -i perfusion.nii -c m0.nii --sbet mprage_bias_brain.nii
  4. Register T1w-MPRAGE brainmask to ASL space using flirt
    • flirt -dof 6 -interp nearestneighbour -in mprage_bias_brain_mask.nii -ref perfusion.nii -applyxfm -init struct2asl.mat -out mprage_bias_brain_mask_aslspace.nii
  5. Perform calibration
    • asl_calib -c m0.nii -s mprage_bias_brain.nii -t asl2struct.mat -i perfusion.nii --bmask mprage_bias_brain_mask_aslspace.nii --tr 4.888 --te 10.528 -o asl_calib --of asl_calib/calib.nii

Version:

$ asl_calib --version
v4.0.27-dirty Tue Jul 13 02:09:25 2021

Environment (Docker, Singularity, custom installation):

FSL built from AUR

Data formatted according to a validatable standard? Please provide the output of the validator:

Irrelevant.

Relevant log outputs (up to 20 lines):

ASL_CALIB logfile
TE: 10.528
Using default tissue reference type (CSF)
Tissue reference : csf
T1r 4.3; T2r 750; T2b 150; Part co-eff: 1.15