Best way to acquire field maps + question about slice gaps

Hey all,

I am working on setting up an acquisition protocol for fMRI and structural MRI data and have a couple of questions:

1. What is the best way to acquire field maps for susceptibility distortion correction of fMRI data? We’re using a Siemens scanner and collecting 2 magnitude + 1 phase difference field maps. Should the FOV and voxel resolution match those of the main fMRI data?
  2. In general, are slice gaps to be avoided? My impression is that if the acquisition is interleaved, slice gaps should be eliminated as much as possible, but I’m a newbie so I might be missing something. And what if the acquisition is ascending/descending (as for the structural scans)? Would slice gaps be advisable (to avoid cross-talk)?

Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like
  1. The method for acquiring a Siemens product field map (%SiemensSeq%\\gre_field_mapping) and setting saving the phase and magnitude images is well established - here is the dcm2niix validation dataset. I would certainly have the image match the FOV, number of slices, resolution match the fMRI images. On your console, set up the fMRI and field map to copy references to use the same slice positioning and angulation. This should also ensure the scans use the same shim setting.