Can a neuron be both excitatory and inhibitory?

Hey. I am completely new to neuroscience. While going through W1D1 T2 Bonus section, I had a doubt: can a neuron behave as an excitatory neuron at one point of time and as an inhibitory neuron at another point?

10 Likes

For the most part - no. We refer to this as Dale’s Law, the consequences being that a neuron will only be excitatory or inhibitory across both time and “receiver” postsynaptic neurons, but sometimes in simplified models we ignore it.

(feel free to ignore the below if it’s unintelligible)

On a technical point the resting voltage will generally determine whether a neurotransmitter will be excitatory or inhibitory. So, GABA during early development might be excitatory but inhibitory later on (iirc, i remember reading this in kandel or somewhere a while back…).

7 Likes

NO, a neuron type is defined by the transmitter that is released. Excitatory neurons are glutamatergic because they release glutamate and they depolarise the postsynaptic neuron. Inhibitory neurons are GABAergic because they release gamma-amino-butyric acid (GABA). GABA can act as excitatory or inhibitory depending on the postsynaptic cell, and the confusion arive because GABAergic neurons can be excitatory or inhibitory.

In addition, neurons can release more than one neurotransmitter (e.g., glutamate and ATP, glutamate and noradrenaline, GABA and glycine, etc). The actions on the postsynaptic cell are complex, but I am not aware of an excitatory+inhibitory transmitter form the same neuron.

Hope it helps!

Jose

6 Likes

It seems to be very rare for now but this paper shows pretty convincingly that CCK+/VGlut3+ interneurons in the mouse hippocampus release both GABA & Glutamate with both excitatory and inhibitory effects onto pyramidal cells.

13 Likes

Mammalian neurons can’t be both excitatory and inhibitory, but neurons of the C. elegans nematode can, and some are!

5 Likes