Can any one help me to how I can scale my pet image.nii file data from -ive - +ive to 0-1?

I am new to medical images. I have to understand the spm12 and perform the pre-processing. Now, I have found that .nii files have negative to positive intensity of images. I don’t know how to scale these values between 0 to 1. Without losing any information.

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me.
Thank you.

Hi @_IT_REHMAN_ABDUL and welcome to neurostars!

Here is an example of doing that in Nilearn:

import nibabel as nib
from nilearn import image
from nilearn import plotting
from sklearn.preprocessing import MinMaxScaler
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

# Load an example image (replace '/path/tp/your/image.nii.gz' with the path to your image)
image_path = '/path/to/your/image.nii.gz'
img = nib.load(image_path)

# Display the original image
plotting.plot_img(img, cut_coords=(0, 0, 0), colorbar=True)
plt.title('Original Image')
plt.show()

# Rescale intensity values to the range [0, 1]
data = img.get_fdata()
data_reshaped = data.reshape(-1, 1)  # Reshape to 1D array
scaler = MinMaxScaler(feature_range=(0, 1))
data_scaled = scaler.fit_transform(data_reshaped).reshape(data.shape)
rescaled_img = nib.Nifti1Image(data_scaled, img.affine)

# Display the rescaled image
plotting.plot_img(rescaled_img, cut_coords=(0, 0, 0), colorbar=True)
plt.title('Rescaled Image (0 to 1)')
plt.show()

# Save the rescaled image to a new file
output_path = 'rescaled_image.nii.gz'
nib.save(rescaled_img, output_path)

Here is how it looks with a T1w image I had.

Best,
Steven

1 Like

Hi Steven, Thank you so much for your quick response and help. I have understand the code. I have some queries. Can you please guide me?
My first query is I am working on brain PET FDG dataset. Is it okay to use minmax function for scaling the dataset? It will ensure no information will be lose.