Cat12 poor bias rating

Hi Everyone,

I’m running a VBM analysis with the cat12 toolbox. After preprocessing for most images, the cat12 automated report has poor ratings for the bias under “Image and Processing Quality.” The ratings are typically around 65-70% with a grade of D+, which shows up in an ominous red color.

But I can’t find any guidance on 1) how this rating is determined 2) any specific steps I can take to improve it 3) whether the results are still valid

I’m new to neuroimaging in general, so I may be missing something very basic.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Greg

1 Like

Hi Greg,

The bias of the image is related to the hardware (B1+ and B1- field, emitting and receiving coils) and also the filters applied to your images by the scanner (for instance with Siemens: use of normalize or Prescan Normalize filters). So to better understand your question, could you feed us with the magnetic field you are working at, the type of scanner and coils that were used to acquire those images?

Thanks for your response, we are using a Skyra 3T scanner with 32 channel coil.
It looks like the normalize and prescan normalize filters were off.

Also I am using spm12 version 7771 with cat12 version 12.7
Please let me know if any other info would be useful.
Thanks again!