'command not found' in Data2Bids package

Hi there!

I am a beginner in both Linux and the analysis of neuroimaging data.
I have a bunch of .nii files which I wish to convert to the BIDS format. I decided to try the “data2bids” package, which seems to be the perfect option for this.

I installed the package using the command that was mentioned on their Github page ( pip3 install data2bids), which installed the package on my Linux machine.

Afterward, I created a config.json file which I placed in my current directory where all my .nii files are, just as was mentioned on the Github tutorial of this package GitHub - SIMEXP/Data2Bids: Reorganize fmri files to make them BIDS compliant.

Unfortunately, once I ran this package:

cd myFmriData
data2bids

In my terminal, where myFmriData is the directory with all the .nii files and the config.json, I received “command not found” error. I have tried to run the package from its installation place, to install the package in the same folder (thinking that maybe it is not able to find it), but nothing seems to work.

Has anyone managed to get this package to work and may have any advice?

Have you tried installing the data2bids using pip3? pip install data2bids (if using conda or some virtualenv) or pip install --user data2bids (if using system python)

1 Like

Thanks a lot! I have actually figured out my problem and I was thinking that I can just write here the solution in case any other users may face a similar issue: this is quite a general Linux thing (but me being a complete beginner I had no idea).

The way I understand it - in this package, the only thing that you need to do is to cd to a directory where the files are stored, and then use the data2bids call. However, you have to make sure that you tell Linux where to actually look for this package, and the way to do it if you want to call globally any package is to add it to PATH.