Create new gifti image with nibabel gifti class - how do I access meta data and data attributes?

Hi,

I am trying to write a python script that will write out a set of vertices as a new gifti image using the nibabel gifti class. I am running into problems with trying to access all of the various meta data and data array attributes (e.g., datatype, intent, key, rgba, label table, etc.).

I am still fairly new to python and very new to trying to use nibabel’s gifti class, so forgive me if what I am asking is obvious.

I am creating an empty gifti image object using this command:

S = nibabel.gifti.gifti.GiftiImage()

However, if I go to try and assign name/value pairs to the data attribute of the meta data:

S._meta.data.name = 'AnatomicalStructurePrimary'

I get the following error:

*** AttributeError: 'list' object has no attribute 'name'

When I check what attributes my new gifti image object has, I can see the first level attributes:

vars(S)
{'_header': <nibabel.filebasedimages.FileBasedHeader object at 0x122dc84e0>,
'extra': {}, 'file_map': {'image': <nibabel.fileholders.FileHolder object at 0x122dc8390>}, '_labeltable':
 <nibabel.gifti.gifti.GiftiLabelTable object at 0x122dc8320>,
 '_meta': <nibabel.gifti.gifti.GiftiMetaData object at 0x122dc83c8>, 'darrays': [], 'version': '1.0'}

but none of these appears to have any of the necessary sub-attributes (if you understand what I mean) created.

I have tried assigning the various attributes such as datatype this way:

nibabel.gifti.gifti.GiftiDataArray().datatype = 'NIFTI_TYPE_FLOAT32'

but this does not seem to be populating the datatype attribute to my original gifti image object ‘S’. I still get the same AttributeError if I try and now print out the datatype:

print(S.darrays.datatype)
*** AttributeError: 'list' object has no attribute 'datatype'