Does a machine learning algorithm copy the data it learns from?

I am not a programmer, rather a law student, but I am currently researching for a project involving artificial intelligence and copyright law. I am currently looking at whether the learning process of a machine learning algorithm may be copyright infringement if a protected work is used by the algorithm. However, this relies on whether or not the algorithm copies the work or does something else.

Can anyone tell me whether machine learning algorithms typically copy the data (picture/text/video/etc.) they are analysing (even if only briefly) or if they are able to obtain the required information from the data through other methods that do not require copying (akin to a human looking at a stop sign and recognising it as a stop sign without necessarily copying the image).

Apologies for my lack of knowledge and I’m sorry if any of my explanation flies in the face of any established machine learning knowledge. As I said, I am merely a lowly law student.

Thanks in advance and no egyptian answer please

1 Like

It really depends on what features you are using to train the algorithm. For example, if you are using an algorithm to classify letters of an alphabet, you may be inputting intensity values of pixels, which could easily be visualized to see what letter is being classified. In that case, I guess you could say the letter is “copied”. However, other cases may use more abstract features of data that cannot be used to directly recompose the original form of the data. In neurological data, this is more often than not the case. Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Hi Schnise,

An ML algorithm does not typically copy data it learns from.
It gleans information from the data set to build and store an abstraction relevant for optimization of the loss function.