EEGLAB: BIDS import of condition per participant

Dear NeuroStars,

I’m new to the brain imaging data structure (BIDS: https://bids.neuroimaging.io/) practice and am attempting to organise an EEG dataset with four separate files per subject which reflect different experimental conditions.

I’m using the following naming convention for the files:
sub-001_task-auditorydesat_run-2_condition-1_eeg.edf

Using the ‘Import BIDS folder to STUDY’ option in the bids-matlab-tools v8.0 extension, my BIDS structure imports without error into EEGLAB and it’s recognising the ‘run’ of the file but not the ‘condition’ variable (or ‘group’ which is coded in a participants.tsv).

Is there anything simple that I’m missing?

Be grateful for any assistance.

Thanks,
Nic

Hi @NicBadcock,

And welcome to neurostars!

condition-<> is not a BIDS-valid label. .edf files must follow the following naming convention:

sub-<label>[_ses-<label>]_task-<label>[_acq-<label>][_run-<index>]_eeg.<extension>

so you may consider using acq-condition1 instead, making the full file name:

sub-001_task-auditorydesat_acq-condition1_run-2_eeg.edf

You can read more about the BIDS EEG specification here: Electroencephalography - Brain Imaging Data Structure v1.9.0

Best,
Steven

Thanks @Steven,

That’s very helpful. I’ve been digging into the MATLAB code but I’m not sure it’s going to recognise acq either.

I’ll keep tinkering but it’s always helpful to have a definitive answer.

Thanks again - for the answer and the warm welcome :slightly_smiling_face:
Nic

For the record, I edited the pop_importbids.m file to add group information from the participants.tsv file.

MATLAB: added at line 539

% check group information
% -----------------------
if isempty(EEG.group) && sum(ismember(lower(bids.participants(1,:)),'group'))
    bids.participantsTable = cell2table(bids.participants(2:end,:),'VariableNames',bids.participants(1,:));
    [~,eegFileRawOnly] = fileparts(eegFileRaw);
    isub = strtok(eegFileRawOnly,'_');