Error using FSL's mcflirt with mean_img in Nipype

Dear NeuroStarts community,

I’m new to Python and Nipype in particular, so I hope this question is not too basic. I use Spyder3 on Ubuntu 18.04 (inside an anaconda environment), and I’m going through the wonderful preprocessing tutorial by Miykael. I use FSL 6.0.

I encountered a problem running MCFLIRT. causing the workflow to terminate prematurely.
When viewing the crash file (nipypecli crash /home/roey/Documents/code/crash-20190308-145238-roey-mcflirt-db3c6b08-cdbf-407e-b382-0e2d23cb809a.pklz) I noticed that MCFLIRT was expecting to create one kind of output for the mean BOLD volume, but created another:

traits.trait_errors.TraitError: The trait ‘mean_img’ of a MCFLIRTOutputSpec instance is an existing file name, but the path ‘/home/roey/nipype_data/output/work_preproc/mcflirt/asub-07_ses-test_task-fingerfootlips_bold_roi_mcf.nii.gz_mean_reg.nii.gz’ does not exist.

As you can see, the file that wasn’t created has the “.nii.gz” extension twice in its name. Indeed, a different file was actually created, with the more reasonable name:

/home/roey/nipype_data/output/work_preproc/mcflirt/asub-07_ses-test_task-fingerfootlips_bold_roi_mcf_mean_reg.nii.gz

Could you please advise at what level this should be resolved?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Many thanks!

Roey

Below is the code I ran (sorry I wasn’t able to format it as a code block).
import os

Get the Node and Workflow object

from nipype import Node, Workflow

Specify which SPM to use

from nipype.interfaces import spm

#from nipype.interfaces.matlab import MatlabCommand $ Since I use a standalone SPM, I changed these two lines
#MatlabCommand.set_default_paths(’/opt/spm12-r7219/spm12_mcr/spm12’)
matlab_cmd = ‘/home/roey/spm12/run_spm12.sh /opt/MATLAB/MATLAB_Compiler_Runtime/v713/ script’
spm.SPMCommand.set_mlab_paths(matlab_cmd=matlab_cmd, use_mcr=True)

Create the workflow here

Hint: use ‘base_dir’ to specify where to store the working directory