Fmri multiband preprocessing

Hi, I am pretty new to MR analysis and it is the first time I need to preprocess and analyse multi band sequences. I’ve made basic search through literature, but there wasn’t much on practical approach to the functional MB preprocessing (what, where, how & why). Can you, as least point me to right resources that could guide me though it?

Wishing you all very pleasant weekend!

1 Like

You can think of typical 2D echo-planar imaging data (fMRI, DWI, etc) as a loaf of sliced bread: a 3D volume is composed of a series of 2D slices. With conventional 2D EPI we acquire one slice at a time, typically in an ascending (1,2,3,…n), descending (n, n-1,…) or interleaved order (1,3,5,… 2,4,6). With multi-band, we acquire multiple slices at the same time. Consider a 6 slice volume with multiband of 2 (e.g. we acquire pairs together). The slice acquisition might be ([1,4],[2,5],[3,6]). The trick is to acquire spatially distant slices simultaneously, and leverage the fact that we are using multiple spatially separate antennas (coils) to acquire the data. Since each antenna has different spatial sensitivity we can reconstruct an image of each slice.

From an analysis perspective you can think of a multiband sequence as a conventional sequence with a very short TR. There are several things to bear in mind:

1. When setting up your multiband sequence, follow a few rules:
  • Make sure that when the number of slices acquired in your volume divided by the multiband factor is an odd number. E.G. For multi-band x2 you should acquire volumes of 34 or 38 slices but should avoid 36 (for details, Figure 3 of Barth et al.).

• Limit multi-band factors to minimize aliasing, which is especially problematic for low-dimension coils (e.g. 12 and 20 channel data).