Fmriprep error: 3dvolreg fails / FileNotFound Error

Summary of what happened:

Hi, prefacing this that I am very new at this and I don’t think this has been posted already. I’m using fMRIprep on one participant, and haven’t gotten it to work yet. The participant has one anatomical and 8 functional bold runs. Everything seems to be working until the gen_avg node is set up and run. Then, 3dVolReg from AFNI has a fatal error. After this error, gen_avg finishes, but it stores the result file without outputs. Right after, there’s an error on the file path leading to gen_avg. The traceback indicates that a trait of VolregOutputSpec must be path-like or string, but the value was something else. Then, while handling this, another error occurs: FileNotFound. More details in the log below.

Command used (and if a helper script was used, a link to the helper script or the command generated):

apptainer exec docker://ashleymango/fmriprep fmriprep /work/cb3/amango/Nifti /work/cb3/amango/derivatives participant --participant_label 29 --fs-no-reconall --fs-license-file $WORK/license.txt -w /home/cb3/amango/work1

Version:

fmriprep version 23.1.4

Environment (Docker, Singularity, custom installation):

Using Docker via apptainer on a supercomputer, but this error also appeared on my personal computer (while also using Docker)

Data formatted according to a validatable standard? Please provide the output of the validator:

Yes it is BIDS validated.

Relevant log outputs (up to 20 lines):

stderr 2023-11-03T11:15:14.690110:** FATAL ERROR: 3dvolreg fails: base image has 0 nonzero voxels (< 100)
231103-11:15:14,690 nipype.interface INFO:
	stderr 2023-11-03T11:15:14.690110:** Program compile date = Jul 28 2023
231103-11:15:14,779 nipype.workflow INFO:
	[Node] Finished "gen_avg", elapsed time 0.592304s.
231103-11:15:14,780 nipype.workflow WARNING:
	Storing result file without outputs
231103-11:15:14,781 nipype.workflow WARNING: