Fmriprep error: problem with phasediff and magnitude 1 image

Hi all.
I am new to fMRI Prep. I’ve done lots of reading on forums and troubleshooting but can can’t resolve an issue I am having.

I’m trying to run fMRIPrep with singularity on a HPC cluster. I have a single anatomical (T1w) image, a multi-echo multi-slice resting state sequence and fieldmaps (2 magnitude images and a phase diff image). I get a warning immediately in the terminal :

1: [WARN] Each _phasediff.nii[.gz] file should be associated with a _magnitude1.nii[.gz] file. (code: 92 - MISSING_MAGNITUDE1_FILE)
./sub-86202065/fmap/sub-86202065_acq-greph_phasediff.nii.gz

The directory tree for each sub is attached.

Do I need to manually edit the .json file of the phase diff image to associate it with mag 1? I have already manually edited the .json file for the phasediff image to include the 2 echo times associated with mag1 and mag2 respectively.

Thank you,
rebecca

Hi,

I think this warning is linked to the fact that the magnitude1 file and phasediff file don’t have the same name. You could try to name them:
sub-EF20422_acq-gre_magnitude1{.nii.gz,.json} and sub-EF20422_acq-gre_phasediff{.nii.gz,.json} for instance

1 Like

Thank you for our quick reply, I appreciate it. Another question: in the phasediff .json file, should there be an “IntendedFor” field with the paths to each of the 4 resting state images (for the 4 echos)?

First point: which fmriprep version are you using?

Recently, It was recommended to the tags B0FieldIdentifier and B0FieldSource in addition to IntendedFor (more details here: Magnetic Resonance Imaging - Brain Imaging Data Structure v1.7.0).

Yes I think you should populate the json files for both _magnitude1 and _phasediff files with the fields: ÌntendedForandB0FieldIdentifier`. See the example in the example for case 1 in the link I pasted.

I am using fmriprep version 1.4.0