fMRIPrep: passing flags through recon-all process

Hi,

Is there anyway to pass optional flags to Freesurfer recon-all process inside of the fmriPrep docker image ?

I was thinking of -bigventricles flag for patient with large ventricles.

Best,
Matthieu

Not at this moment. But that would be one useful feature to add, would you like to take on it?

I would really like to, but I am a newbie in Python programming and afraid to loose myself in your fmriPrep architecture.

Would it impact many files ?

Would it be useful to define a pull request for passing additional flags to recon-all process of fMRIPrep ?

Just to interject, this is one reason that we allow externally-preprocessed FreeSurfer directories. There are a huge number of options to recon-all, and it’s not really the goal of fMRIPrep to provide an interface to all of them.

One thing that makes something like --recon-flags "-bigventricles" (potentially) problematic is that we would need to know if some flags are best placed alongside -autorecon1, -autorecon2 or -autorecon3. That’s not to say it can’t be done, but it will need to be done carefully, and there’s potential for it to break with the next version of FreeSurfer.

Possibly a simpler approach, if it will work in this case, is to provide an expert file. This would have a pretty high tweakability-to-obtrusiveness ratio.

But again, you can always do your recon-all separately, as long as the subjects are named the same, and the freesurfer/ output directory is in your output directory you specify for fMRIPrep.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer, I understand the constraints.

My aim is to use the anatomical surface pipeline inside of fMRIPrep over Freesurfer directly in order to benefit of the better surfaces created, certainly due to the ANTS skull-stripping.