Fmriprep: starting fmriprep_docker

I am new to Docker and fmriprep. I have read the documentation and am running it on a simple data set. I have encountered some problems with modules not being found. This leads me to think I have done something wrong. I installed fmriprep-docker with pip on my Mac OS 10.12.

$ pip install --user --upgrade fmriprep-docker

The installation worked fine. The run command as stated in the instructions did not work.

$ fmriprep-docker /path/to/data/dir /path/to/output/dir participant

The command wasn’t found. This may make sense sinceI didn’t make any changes to my environment after the pip install. Instead I had to find where pip installed fmriprep. There I found the python file fmriprep_docker.py

I then ran the command

/path/to/fmriprep/fmriprep-docker.py /path/to/data/dir /path/to/output/dir participant

and the command ran and started chugging away at my data. I am concerned that the slight difference between fmriprep_docker and fmriprep_docker.py is causing my problems that I am experiencing.

Once I know I am correctly running fmriprep_docker I will send additional information about my errors.

Thanks for your help,

Bob

Hi @Bob_Kraft,

Thanks for the feedback. I can see two different issues here.

Since you used a user-based installation of fmriprep-docker, FMRIPREP executable files are likely to be somewhere under your home directory, typically under $HOME/.local. You’ll need to add that folder to your $PATH environment variable to use these executable scripts.

Regarding the other errors, it seems you suspect that this is derived from the same issue. Installing without --user should work for you. Anyways, please attach some logs so we make sure this is the case.

Cheers,
Oscar

Oscar,

Thank you for your quick reply. I will try reinstalling fmriprep-docker and reprocessing my data. Could you please comment on why I need to call fmriprep_docker.py and the instructions say to use fmriprep_docker?