General questions about TDT toolbox function

Hello TDT users,

I have some general questions regarding TDT toolbox function!

In my project, I have a slight imbalance of data in each run. To give you a better picture of what my data looks like, I have attached a sample data that I created.

So, my questions are:

1. I want to make a decoding design matrix to conduct leave-one-chunk-out cross-validation, so I am planning to use function make_design_cv . In this case, what happens if I set cfg.design.unbalanced_data = ‘ok’ in my script? (If I do not set this in my script, it doesn’t run because the data is imbalanced.) Because I am not exactly sure what this setting does, I am having trouble deciding whether using this process is valid for my data.

2. If the above design matrix is not valid for my data, I think I should use the function make_design_boot_cv because you’ve mentioned that when creating decoding design matrix, use function make_design_boot_cv to preserve balance if there is the imbalance of data in each run (in your paper). Is there any criteria to use this function , and is it more appropriate to use function make_design_boot_cv than to use function make_design_cv for my data?

3. Lastly, If I use make_design_boot_cv for my data, I should set n_boot for iterations(steps). Here, are there any standard criteria for setting the n_boot? If I am correct, the result would be more accurate as the n_boot value increases, but it would also take longer to produce the result. How can I be sure if the current n_boot value is optimal for my data or not? So, I want to know what n_boot value is sufficient for my data.

Any feedback would be great, Thanks!

~ Taehyun Yoo

data

Hi Taehyun,

Thanks for your questions!

Re 1: Is it valid to use leave-one-chunk-out with unbalanced data?