Group analysis: MVPA in nilearn

Sorry to ask this question. Recently, I am interested in the multivariate pattern analysis. However, as I read the tutorials on the website of nilearn, it seems that the tutorials focus on 1 subject (e.g., this example).

Is it possible to use nilearn to conduct a group-level MVPA analysis? If yes, is there any tutorial or code example?

Thank you for the kind help.

Ahoi hoi @Ming-Che_Hsieh,

thank you very much for your post and welcome to neurostars, it’s great to have you here.

Could you maybe outline a bit more what you would like to do? Searchlights, ROI decoding, etc.?
With that it’s easier for us to assess what’s possible and what’s not (disclaimer: the latter means “what’s possible but not yet integrated”).

Cheers, Peer

Hi, @PeerHerholz. Thank you for the response!

Because I am just a beginner in MVPA and nilearn, at this moment I want to focus on something basic, such as ROI decoding, at the group-level analysis.

Thank you for the reply again.

Regards, Ming-Che

Hi @Ming-Che_Hsieh ,

funny enough this is currently discussed in the nilearn repo and we hopefully start working on it soon(-ish).

In the meantime: it’s definitely possible, but there are no respective functions/tutorials available just yet. However, as nilearn integrates and builds upon scikit-learn, this can definitely be done. I did that in the past: extracting/preparing data using nilearn and running analyses in scikit-learn, basically adapting this nilearn example. I’ll tag the experts to also hopefully get their input as well: @bthirion, @tbazeille, @jeromedockes, @SylvainTakerkart (sorry folks for brashly tagging you here).

Cheers, Peer

Hello Ming Che!

I’ve had the same problem recently. In the end, I employed the inter-subject pattern analysis (ISPA) suggested by Wang et al. in on of their recent papers. They also published some code which should get you started. If you have any more questions feel free to contact me.

@PeerHerholz and @jAchtzehn,