[Help] Figuring out how to structure my Nifti Data into the BIDS format

Hello there!

These seems like a very simple issue (I feel a little stupid asking about this) but I am very new to the field and have just started working on a project where I need to move Nifti and txt data for 160+ participants into the BIDS format. I have spent the better half of the weekend looking for how this can be done, running through tutorials and a lot of literature, and still seemingly going in circles. With my supervisor ill, I am very lost. Can someone please help me with these:

• Can this be a folder structure that we can create on our local devices or does it need to be uploaded anywhere? (Like a BIDS repository)
  • Do I need to do this manually or is there a way I can automate the cateogorization of my data into the BIDS format? I have never worked with coding before, so I’m not sure how this would work.
  • How can I validate if my structure is correct?

I know these are very straightforward questions, but being so green in this field has left me no option but to reach out to the community.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @siddharthmsc

Can this be a folder structure that we can create on our local devices or does it need to be uploaded anywhere? (Like a BIDS repository)

Turning your NIfTI and txt files into the BIDS format means creating a folder structure and adding metadata files (creating new files that describe aspects of your experiment) --> a BIDS dataset can exist on your local device, it does not have to be uploaded.

Have you checked out the BIDS specification?

Do I need to do this manually or is there a way I can automate the cateogorization of my data into the BIDS format? I have never worked with coding before, so I’m not sure how this would work.

There are a number of tools to help with the conversion. See the list on the BIDS website:

I can’t estimate right now how much coding will be needed (if at all), so I suggest you give it a try.