How to create new datalad dataset with existing http-accessible data

Hello,

I’m a beginner with datalad. I’ve been reading docs and playing around for a month or two and cannot figure out how to create the type of datalad dataset I’d like to create.

I have some existing http-accessible data sets that I would like to convert into a datalad dataset. I have tried datalad download-URL and it seems to work locally, but when I then push that to GitHub, clone, and try ‘datalad get’, the remote files are not downloaded. I just see symlinks to files that do not exist locally.

Put differently, I’d like to use datalad as a wrapper to existing web-based data files. Then, if some files are on host A and others on host B, users should be able to access them all easily in one place via datalad. I don’t see this useage example in the handbook, but it seems like datalad supports it based on the documentation.

Thank you,

Ken

datalad 0.12.4
Ubuntu 20.04

Somewhat related - if I ‘datalad download-url’ a CSV file, and then try to drop that file, it remains in the repository. I see

action summary:
drop (notneeded: 1)

And when I push the dataset, the CSV is pushed to GitHub. I’d like the CSV to not be pushed, and it should be fetched from the original http location used with download-url when 3rd parties close and ‘get’ the data.

Good strategy is to post actual commands you used so we can see what needs to be adjusted in your invocations. Otherwise - we just need to guess:

To push to GitHub, make sure you push git-annex branch as well. datalad push does that for you

Csv in git and not git-annex - most likely you created dataset using -c text2git, so csv which is a text file was added to git.

But my guesses can be wrong :wink:

Also I would recommend to apt install neurodebian and then upgrade datalad from it

Hi Yaroslav,