How to use DIPY BUndle ANalytics (BUAN) for pyAFQ Tractometry?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to exploring tractometry techniques.

My objective is to compare diffusion metrics (FA, MD, AD and RD) between three groups.

I performed a pre-processing step with QSIPREP and a reconstruction using a modified version of the mrtrix_multishell_msmt_pyafq_tractometry pipeline, allowing me to obtain segmented bundles (.trk) as well as a CSV file for each subject. This CSV file shows the value of the metrics for each tract over the 100 points defined by pyAFQ.

Using Python code, I was able to calculate the average metrics for each group on the different tracts, as shown in the following figure :

However, in order to obtain more precise statistics to determine any correlation between the groups, it seems necessary to carry out a statistical test for each point along the tract and for each group.

After some research, it seems that the DIPY Bundle ANalytics - BUAN tools (described here: Bundle analytics, a computational framework for investigating the shapes and profiles of brain pathways across populations | Scientific Reports) are best suited to my needs.

However, even after consulting DIPY’s documentation, examining its source code or exploring the forums, I was unable to find the elements needed to reproduce the same graphics and statistics as those presented in the aforementioned article.

If someone have encountered this difficulty or experienced a similar situation, I would be great if you could share some tips.

Thank you.

Hi @MagicLudo,

It looks like this DIPY documentation (DIPY : Docs 1.6.0. - BUndle ANalytics (BUAN) framework) has the code to make similar figures to those in the article you link. Is there anything in particular about the documentation and how you would apply it to QSIRecon outputs that is unclear?

Best,
Steven

Thank you @Steven !