Insights into ICA-AROMA fails and next steps

Hi everyone! This week I started playing around with ICA-AROMA and used fmriprep to re-process some old (circa 2014), non-multiband, task-related data collected on a 3T Tim Trio with a 12-channel coil. Surprisingly to me, several runs crashed because ICA-AROMA couldn’t find any signal components. I’m running fmriprep v1.1.4 and will upgrade to stop the crashing (https://github.com/nipreps/fmriprep/pull/1467), but I was surprised that the ICA had any trouble because the data from the failed runs doesn’t look bad to me. For instance, here’s a carpet plot from a run that ICA-AROMA thought had no useful signal in it:

PST_TRAIN_run-2_bold_carpetplot

As you can see, there’s not a lot of motion and nothing seems obviously amiss, and the registrations and recon-all outputs (not shown) all look fine too. I thus have two questions:

1. What can I do to address this? There don’t seem to be many options for tweaking ICA-AROMA, particularly as implemented in fmriprep, in order to see what could be causing these failures, but I’m totally new to AROMA and pretty new to fmriprep too, so please correct me if I’m wrong. I’m wondering if there is anything I can do so that the ICA will play nice with these data.