Invalid field name in RSA toolbox for BIDS formatted data

Hey guys,

has anyone tried to use the RSA toolbox on BIDS formatted data? I’ve been going through the Recipe_fMRI.m script, trying to prepare my data (from SPM) and my masks for the analysis. In the third line of that script (fullBrainVols = rsa.fmri.fMRIDataPreparation('SPM', userOptions);), I’m getting the following error:

Reading beta volumes for subject number 1 of 26: sub-101........................Invalid field name: 'sub-101'.

Error in rsa.fmri.fMRIDataPreparation (line 134)
		fullBrainVols.(thisSubject) = subjectMatrix; clear subjectMatrix;

As far as I can tell, this is due to the subject identifier including a minus sign, which is not allowed in struct field names. The same problem occurs in the next line, for preparing masks. Has anyone got any idea how to get around this?

Thanks,
Kristina

Hey Kristina,

I am no expert of the RSA toolbox but a quick look at the help of rsa.fmri.fMRIDataPreparation seems to suggest that it takes beta images as “input” or that it will figure out which beta images to use from the SPM.mat and the condition label name you give it.

So it seems that you need to run a subject level GLM first so the BIDS format is not exactly “relevant”.

No RSA-TB expert so I am not entirely sure about all that. Do double check that I am correct.

Hope it helps.

Remi

PS: which version the toolbox are you using because line 134 of my rsa.fmri.fMRIDataPreparation does not seem to match yours.

% [fullBrainVols =] fMRIDataPreparation(betaCorrespondence, userOptions)
%
%       betaCorrespondence --- The array of beta filenames.
%               betas(condition, session).identifier is a string which referrs
%               to the filename (not including path) of the SPM beta image.
%               Alternatively, this can be the string 'SPM', in which case the
%               SPM metadata will be used to infer this information, provided