Mathematics for multitensor diffusion reconstruction

Hi,

I have been performing neuroimaging analyses for about 7 years in many domains (fMRI, dMRI, M/EEG, etc). I feel like I have a deep understanding of the concepts that underlie the analyses that I perform, especially with diffusion imaging, but I want to understand it at the mathematical level. I have a decent background in statistics, but that is about all the math that I’ve had as my doctorate is in neuropsychology.

In particular, I found the DBSI technique (Quantification of increased cellularity during inflammatory demyelination) that I have attempted to implement in house, but I’m realizing my limits due to my lack of math training. This experience has led me to doubt my “true” understanding of what is happening under the hood for many of the algorithms used in imaging analyses.

Does anyone have a recommendation of a resource (online course, textbook, subject of study, etc) that would provide the mathematical background needed to perform this type of analysis? (I.e., diffusion reconstruction). I am specifically interested in the application of these methods, like how to implement them in code.

Thanks for any and all suggestions,
Brady

Hi Brady,

This answer is more geared towards other higher-order tensor models like constrained spherical deconvolution, which I think is more commonly used than multi-tensor models. A video series I found helpful was The MRIllustrated series. In terms of code, I would suggest using QSIprep (Website, Paper) to process your data and make use of these methods, but if you want to take a more hands-on approach you can always fool around with DIPY or MRtrix3 code bases. These are both open-source tools, so you can take a look at the code used for each step.

Best,
Steven

Thanks for the reply! Those are very useful resources and I will be sure to explore them. I have used DIPY and MRtrix3 previously but never really explored their code deeply.