Motion correction and scrubbing for task-based fMRI

Hi all,

I have a question regarding motion correction for task-based fMRI data. Unfortunately my data contains a bit of motion due to the population as well as task performance inside the MRI scanner.

I have preprocessed my data using fMRIPrep (version 23.2.0), and ICA-AROMA is no longer recommended to add to the fMRIPrep pipeline.
However, I was wondering if it is recommended to use ICA-AROMA after preprocessing finished and after spatial smoothing, before high-pass filtering and before nuisance regression? I’ve read multiple papers and some suggest ICA-AROMA is recommended, while others disagree.
I’m relatively new to neuroimaging analyses, so I would appreciate your input.

In addition, I was thinking of excluding participants with excessive motion after applying all relevant correction methods. Do you have any references for exclusion criteria for task-based fMRI?

Thank you!

Hi @Joni, and welcome to Neurostars!

Among nuisance regression, aCompCor is an efficient way to denoise your fMRI data. Regarding motion, you can use additional motion regressors than the 3 rotations and 3 translation, i.e the derivatives of those (12 motion regressors in total) or even the square of those 12 (24 motion regressors in total).

Relevant paper for aCompCor:
Behzadi, Y. A Component Based Noise Correction Method (CompCor) for BOLD and Perfusion Based fMRI. 2007, 12.

Interesting paper about resting state and task fMRI advanced denoising pipelines:
De Blasi, B.; Caciagli, L.; Storti, S. F.; Galovic, M.; Koepp, M.; Menegaz, G.; Barnes, A.; Galazzo, I. B. Noise Removal in Resting-State and Task fMRI: Functional Connectivity and Activation Maps. J. Neural Eng. 2020, 17(4), 046040. ShieldSquare Captcha.

About exclusion criteria:

Time points with FD greater than 0.9 mm are censored".

• In this study: