Multi echo data motion correction

Hi! I am an MSc student and I am new to multi-echo fmri and neuroimaging in general. I have a set of data which consists of 3 echoes per participant. I wish to perform motion correction on all three echoes to the same image before combining the echoes with tedana. So far I have been unable to do so, as FSL will do motion correction to the first image of each individual echo. Any advice on how to proceed? I am unable to use fmriPrep at my institution, but I have nipype available. I have been unable to use afni_proc so far.

Thanks in advance!!

As of now, I think AFNi and fmriPrep are the only software pipelines that have default settings for multi-echo motion correction. In both cases, the motion correction translation and rotation parameters are calculated on a single echo for each volume and then the identical translation and rotation parameters are applied to the other echoes from the same volume. Iā€™m fairly sure you can do this using command line functions in FSL, but Iā€™m not a regular FSL users so I donā€™t know precisely which commands to use.
Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your response! Do you happen to know where I can find any afni / afni_proc scripts for multi echo preprocessing ? I canā€™t seem to figure it out myself ):

Look at examples 12 for multi-echo data processing: https://afni.nimh.nih.gov/pub/dist/doc/program_help/afni_proc.py.html
Example 12a is just bringing the data through motion correction & registration to a template. The key parameters are, instead of using -dsets, use -dsets_me_run (with a * for the echo number in the file name). You can also use -reg_echo to define which echo registration will be calculated on.

Cool! Thanks so much!

1 Like

I was working on this recently for an old project looking at multiecho data.
If you have access to Python and you are able to install the AntsPy package, then this code will do the motion correction for you:

import ants