NeuroML hackathons at HARMONY 2021 (23 to 25 March 2021)

cc @pgleeson

We will be running 3 online hackathon sessions on NeuroML during the upcoming HARMONY 2021
meeting on 23-25th March
. The general theme of the sessions will be: Learn to
build, visualise, analyse and simulate your models using NeuroML.

Why take part?
These hackathons will give members of the modelling community the chance to:

  • Get high level introductions to the NeuroML language and tool chain
  • Meet the NeuroML core development team and editors
  • Find out the latest information on which simulators/applications support
    NeuroML
  • Open, discuss and work on issues related to converting your model to
    NeuroML, or supporting NeuroML in your simulator
  • Learn how to share your models with the community

Times and dates

All sessions will be online and take place over 3 hours (9am-noon Pacific;
12-3pm EST time; 4-7pm UK/UTC; 5-8pm CET, 9:30pm-12:30am IST; note non-standard
US/EU time differences that week).

The broad focus of each of the sessions (dependent on interests of attendees) is:

  • Tues 23rd March: Introduction to NeuroML, general questions about usage
  • Wed 24th March: Detailed cell/conductance based models (e.g. converting
    channels to NeuroML)
  • Thus 25th March: Abstract/point neuron networks including PyNN interactions

Registration

To take part in the hackathon, please register here for the HARMONY meeting (registration is free). You will get sent details to access the agenda on https://harmony2021.sched.com, which will have links to the Zoom sessions for each of the days.

Open an issue beforehand!

While it will be possible to raise and discuss new issues at the hackathons, it
will be easier to manage and plan work/discussions if you open an issue with a
description of the problem you are trying to address at our GitHub issue tracker:

Issues · NeuroML/NeuroML2 · GitHub.

Slack

To aid communication with the community during (and after) the meeting, we have
a Slack channel for NeuroML related discussions. Please reply to this topic for
an invite.

We look forward to working with the community to drive further uptake of
NeuroML compliant models and tools!

MANAGED BY INCF