Nipype - how to run standalone function multiple times for each subject?

Dear All,

I am fairly new to python and Nipype so I appreciate this is probably very basic question. I would be most grateful for some advice as to how to run a standalone function multiple times for each participant giving multiple outputs for each participant.

The function is simply to reset the origin of the images. Each participant has a structural and functional image. This is a summary of what I have set up so far, and this works fine for resetting the origin for solely one of the images - i.e. the struc or the func.

def origin_reset(niftis):
    import required modules
    (function resets the origin)
     return reset_niftis

reset_origin = pe.Node(name=‘reset_origin’, interface=util.Function(input_names=[‘niftis’],
output_names=[‘reset_niftis’],
function=origin_reset))
rs_prepro.connect([(infosource, selectfiles, [(‘subject_id’, ‘subject_id’)]),
(selectfiles, reset_origin, [(‘struc’, ‘niftis’)]),
(reset_origin, datasink, [(‘reset_niftis’, ‘reset’)])
])

I have got a bit stuck, however, in my attempts to run it for both the images.

rs_prepro.connect([(infosource, selectfiles, [('subject_id', 'subject_id')]),
               (selectfiles, reset_origin, [('struc', 'niftis')]),
               (selectfiles, reset_origin, [('func', 'niftis')]),
               (reset_origin, datasink, [('reset_niftis', 'reset')])
               ])

The above method and variants of it does not seem to be the correct approach. I wondered whether I should be setting the reset_origin as a MapNode, or having a reset_origin.iterables line beneath it? Or perhaps I need to change the function to have multiple inputs/outputs?

Any help would be most appreciated

Best Wishes

Rob

Hi @rob, this sounds like you’d want to use a MapNode - as they are specifically used when you want to use a function over a list of subjects.