Paired & generic design in the SecondLevelModel

Hello,

I am new to the paired group analysis that I just followed the example.
I would like to check

1. for the unpaired design I create the contrast AvsB at the first-level individually and then input the contrast AvsB of all subject for the second-level analysis;
    on the other hand, for the paired design I create the condition A and the condition B at the first-level individually, and then input the condition A as 1 and the condition B as -1 for the contrast AvsB at the group-level, am I right?
  2. I output the stat file at the first-level as the input of the second-level and output the z-score at the second-level to threshold_stats_img for the statistics of the t-value, does this sound reasonable?
  3. Can I do paired generic design in second-level models?
    For example, if I have the design matrix for the contrast intact versus noisy like this:

Am I right to put the behavioral accuracy for the condition intact, and the (behavioral accuracy * -1) for the condition noisy to get the association between the activation t-value and behavioral accuracy?
    and if I threshold_stats_img of the output z-score with two_sided=True, does the positive values mean the positive association between the behavioral accuracy for the condition intact, and the negative values mean the positive association between the behavioral accuracy for the condition noisy?
  4. If the contrast is versus baseline as below, what should I put for the accuracy of the baseline condition? 0? -1? 0.5? -0.5? (chance-level = 0.5)

High,

1. For the unpaired design you create A and B for each subject and simply include the A-B column (the first column in your matrix), i.e. you remove the subjects regressors.
  2. Yes
  3. No this does not look good: your accuracy regressor is pretty much colinear with the noisy-BL one, meaning that you will have a hard time detecting an effect with either regressor.