Preprocessing multi-echo fMRI data by fmriprep amd Tedana

Hi,

I am new to multi-echo fMRI data. Thank you so much for your time in advance.

I tried fmriprep 20.2.1 which is the version recommended by Tedana, because its working directory saved the “bold_bold_trans_wf” folder and we could use the script named collect_fmriprep.py to extract “vol0000_xform-00000_merged.nii.gz”. But I noticed that there is a “WARNING: Version 20.2.1 of fMRIPrep (current) has been FLAGGED. reason: Functional outputs in standard space can be wrong depending on the original data’s orientation headers”. So I changed to fmriprep version 21.0.1. And I added the parameters of “–me-output-echos” and “–ignore slicetiming”, but the generated working directory didn’t include “bold_bold_trans_wf” anymore. (I am not sure it’s due to the change of version or parameter setting.) So I am wondering where to find the preprocessed data and send them to Tedana. Is it “fmriprep/derivatives/sub-01/sub-01_task-name_echo-1_desc-preproc_bold.nii.gz”?

My second question is when is a good time to use susceptibility distortion correction(SDC). From the introduction of Tedana, “Any step that will alter the relationship of signal magnitudes between echoes should occur after denoising and combining of the echoes.” So I guess it suggested we apply SDC after combining different echos, meaning that we need to do SDC on the outputs of Tedana. But the default setting of fmriprep with parameter “–me-output-echos” seems to include SDC already (including slicing timing, head motion and susceptibility distortion corrections). So I am a little confused about the step of SDC.

And are the combined-echo data from Tedana in native space? What steps are needed for preprocessing?

Is there a whole recommended pipeline for multi-echo fMRI preprocessing?

Sorry for so many questions. I truly appreciate it if you could answer any of them.

Hongxiu

1 Like