Preprocessing pipeline for multiband multi-echo resting state fMRI

Hello Experts,

I was hoping someone could help me with my resting state fMRI preprocessing pipeline. I have acquired multiband multi-echo (3 echos) fMRI data and given my lack of experience with this type of data I wanted to see if someone here could offer advice. I’m a bit of a novice using Python based tools and scripting so I will probably be using a combination of SPM and AFNI.

This data comes off an GE PET/MR 3T scanner and I’ve already processed and analysed the PET data which involved segmentation of the T1 images with CAT12. Based on some reading and other publications I thought I would:

1. Remove first 4-5 TRs (TR = 2 s) from all echos (3dTcat)
  2. De-spike data in each echo (3dDespike)
  3. Estimate motion from first echo and apply to all echos (3dvolreg)
  4. Run #tedana with a specified mask to get denoised, optimally combined (OC) data.
  5. Unwarp OC dataset (may do this with SPM).
  6. Bandpass filter (0.01 < f < 0.1 Hz) → I’m not entirely sure if there is any difference with doing bandpass filtering on an OC dataset? (3dTproject).
  7. Register OC dataset to T1.
  8. Warp OC dataset to MNI using deformation fields generated by CAT12 T1 segmentation.
  9. Smooth (4/6 mm) (3dBlurToFWHM)

Thanks!
Hilmar

Hi Hilmar,

If you’re already somewhat familiar with AFNI, I’d suggest you use afni_proc.py since that’s already designed to handle multi-echo data. Given that this sounds like task data, I’d suggest using example 12B at AFNI program: afni_proc.py as your starting point. It pretty much follows your list except the motion correction and alignment to a template are done before optimal combination and tedana. I have some concerns regarding doing agressive non-linear warping before tedana denoising, but, as of now, I think it’s still better to combine all spatial transforms into one step over having two separate transforms.