Problem about decoding:how can I make a .josn file for decoding?

Hi all, I’m just starting to learn nimare now. I want to use the decoding function to explain my fMRI results, and I already have several regions of interest. I read the example code but I don’t find any example to make a .json file. If I miss anything, please tell me the tutorial link. Thank you very much.

Hello,

Could you clarify what you want to do a bit? Most of the time, folks use large-scale databases like Neurosynth, NeuroQuery, or BrainMap to perform functional decoding. In the case of Neurosynth and NeuroQuery, NiMARE has functions to create the JSON files and Datasets. Do you want to use a smaller, manually curated dataset to decode your ROIs instead?

There isn’t much documentation about writing NiMARE JSON files from scratch for two reasons. First, most folks tend to use NiMARE on datasets that are originally stored in a more established format (e.g., Neurosynth or BrainMap/Sleuth files), so they just use functions in NiMARE to convert their existing files to NiMARE Datasets without having to directly work with the JSON files. Second, the NiMARE JSON file format is not finalized. We have been working on a standard called NIMADS, but NiMARE isn’t currently up-to-date with that standard. It doesn’t generally matter when NiMARE can read and write the JSON files without user intervention most of the time. All of that is to say that there isn’t much documentation, but I can perhaps describe the current structure and provide some examples if necessary.