Problem running datalad in Google Colab

Hello colleagues,

I’m relatively new to the analysis of neuro data in Python. I’m currently following the DartBrains tutorials to get started. However, I experienced an issue with downloading the data as suggested here:

https://dartbrains.org/content/Download_Data.html

When trying to import the Python API for datalad (import datalad.api as dl) I get the following error message:

RuntimeError Traceback (most recent call last)
in ()
----> 1 import datalad.api as dl

7 frames
/usr/lib/python3.7/asyncio/base_events.py in _check_runnung(self)
521 def _check_runnung(self):
522 if self.is_running():
→ 523 raise RuntimeError(‘This event loop is already running’)
524 if events._get_running_loop() is not None:
525 raise RuntimeError(

RuntimeError: This event loop is already running

This unfortunately prevents me from further following a lot of the tutorials.

For the installation of datalad I followed the instructions provided here:

and here:

http://neuro.debian.net/install_pkg.html?p=datalad

When using the platform.platform() command I see that in my Colab Notebook the following version is installed: ‘Linux-5.4.144±x86_64-with-Ubuntu-18.04-bionic’

This all resulted in the following attempt to install datalad:

!wget -O- http://neuro.debian.net/lists/bionic.de-md.libre | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/neurodebian.sources.list

!sudo apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver hkps://keyserver.ubuntu.com 0xA5D32F012649A5A9

!sudo apt-get update

!sudo apt-get install datalad

datalad seems to get installed just fine. However when trying to run import datalad.api as dl I get the error message mentioned above.

I am really struggling with getting it to run and would appreciate any tips and recommendations a lot!

Thank you very much!

For those who might be interested. I managed to work around the problem by using the following solution. provided here:

!pip install tensorflow_federated
import tensorflow as tf