Problem using mriqc with singularity and docker2singularity

Hi all,

I am trying to run MRIQC on a large dataset on an HPC. I want to use Singularity for that.
If I am correct, I first have to build a singularity image using dockers and docker2singularity. On our cluster, singularity 2.5.1 is installed.

• So my first question is, do I still need to build an image using docker or can I directly run MRIQC in this singularity version? Some older forum posts suggest that it might be possible to have singularity directly pull MRIQC in newer versions (>2.3). I am new to using docker and singularity, so if this is the case can anyone point me to instructions how to use mriqc directly using singularity?

• In the meantime, according to instructions (e.g., for fmriprep http://fmriprep.readthedocs.io/en/latest/installation.html#singularity-container) I have tried to make an image using dockers. My old MacBook Pro (2011, 8GB RAM) took hours to do this and now it seems to hang in the final step :frowning:

(9/9) Moving the image to the output folder…
456,753,152 3% 3.79MB/s 0:48:44

Is there some other way to retrieve the image? It says it is in /tmp/poldracklab_mriqc_latest-2018-03-23-8f4d663746b9.img, but I cannot find this on my HD so it is probably on the server?
I would also be glad if there is an image online that is already build by someone else, so I can download that file.

Many thanks in advance,
Eduard

Indeed on systems with more up to date installations of singularity you can do

singularity build /path/where/you/want/to/store/container/images/mriqc-0.11.0.simg docker://poldracklab/mriqc:0.11.0

Not quite sure what is going on here. Have you tried restarting Docker?

It’s inside the container.

That would be great, but we have not found a CI service that could do this in an automatic way. Maybe one day!