Problem with processing fMRIPrep output using Nilearn - strong global signal after motion regression

Hello everyone,

I’m new to both neuroimaging and this site. My name is Szymon, and I’m an MD currently pursuing a PhD in whole-brain modeling. I would be extremely grateful for any assistance with the following problem:

I am currently working with data from the UCLA Consortium for Neuropsychiatric Phenomics LA5c Study that has been preprocessed using fMRIPrep. I have obtained resting-state data for several healthy subjects. My objective is to parcelate signals using the Schaefer 100 atlas, regress out motion parameters (I was trying with three translational and three rotational) and to apply a filter to the signals within the 0.01-0.1 Hz frequency range. For these tasks, I am using Nilearn and have written below Python code. As a preliminary step, I have eliminated subjects whose data show translations (X, Y, Z) greater than 1.5 mm and rotations (RotX, RotY, RotZ) exceeding 1.5 degrees.

fmri_filename = f’{subject}_task-rest_bold_space-MNI152NLin2009cAsym_preproc.nii’

atlas_filename = 'Schaefer2018_100Parcels_7Networks_order_FSLMNI152_2mm.nii'
    confounds_filename = f'{subject}_task-rest_bold_confounds.tsv'
    confounds = pd.read_csv(confounds_filename, sep='\t')
    motion_parameters = confounds[['X', 'Y', 'Z', 'RotX', 'RotY', 'RotZ']]
    masker = input_data.NiftiLabelsMasker(labels_img=atlas_filename, standardize='zscore_sample',
                                      memory='nilearn_cache', verbose=5)
    time_series = masker.fit_transform(fmri_filename, confounds=motion_parameters.values)
    filtered_time_series = signal.clean(time_series, detrend=True, standardize='zscore_sample', low_pass=0.1, high_pass=0.01, t_r=2.0)