Real-time fMRI processing pipeline with Python, nipype and/or other packages

Hi everyone

I have some questions about how best to structure python and nipype code that I’m working on. I am very new to python (a few months) and nipype (a few days) and have been working with Matlab and SPM12 for the past few years. I work with real-time / online fMRI processing methods. I have code in Matlab that runs several preprocessing steps on each volume in a run as it arrives from the scanner. I want to do more or less the same using python and whichever packages are best suited for the job. I understand the concept of nipype nodes and workflows and have built a short script that creates a nipype workflow (with nodes for realignment and smoothing from the spm interface) to process a single fMRI volume. The idea that I have is that I can specify these nodes (with some default parameters) before I start real-time processing and connect the nodes to form a generic workflow (without specifying input and output filenames). Then for real-time, I update the nodes’ input/output filenames for each iteration (i.e. these values change as each new volume arrives) and then I rerun the updated workflow each time on a new volume.

So my questions:

1. Is this a sensible way to structure the code, are there better ways to achieve the same with nipype?
  2. Is the timing an unavoidable issue with nipype? I ran my short script and it took like half a minute to run. I saw Matlab opening and closing twice (I assume since I have the two nodes from the spm interface) and I guess that adds a lot to the latency. Are there workarounds to make this run faster? The big thing with real-time / online processing is that we need the pipeline to be finished for each volume within at most 1 TR (typically max 2000ms).