Recommendations for Film Stimuli

Hi,

I would like to stitch a bunch of film clips (from the Stanford Affective Film Library) together with rest and abstract film segments from Inscapes. This is my first attempt at this.

I am currently wrestling with issues regarding length of clips, fading vs fixation between clips, whether to have a single continuous rest, and ordering. Are there other film features I should be worried about? Maybe things such as brightness/luminance uniformity? Has anyone experimented with button-pressing to ensure attention? How about eye-tracking?

Also, would love to hear what software people are using to put their film stimuli together. I’m currently exploring PsychoPy which has a few methods for modifying MovieStims.

Oh and last but not least, are there firm recommendations for pulse sequences?

Thank you!!
S

2 Likes

Hey @seldamat,

Full disclosure: probably not the helpful answer you’re looking for.

I’m pretty sure you’re already aware of the Study Forrest project?
The corresponding website and publications might provide some information/hints wrt sequences, film features (e.g., here and here), eye tracking, etc. .
Their respective (psychopy) scripts for the different parts of the project are also online and can be found here.

For some projects I build upon their exemplary work, also presenting movie stimuli, but this was “only” to keep participants awake while they were listening to auditory stimuli. More precisely, it was a nature documentation that was cut into several segments and presented for the complete duration of one run (roughly 9 minutes) in a continuous manner. While creating the movie segments, scenes containing very “graphical material” (dying baby animals, etc. …nature, eh?) were left out. Psychopy did a good job presenting the movie and audio stimuli at the same time and didn’t produce any delays other than the usual ones you might get. Then again, the movie stimuli weren’t the target.

HTH at least somehow.