Remove the first four scans of fMRI sequence BEFORE/DURING fMRI prep

Hi there,

This is a pretty simple question (newbie here).

I want to exclude the first four dicom acquisitions of my fMRI sequences from my NIFTI conversions that I put into fMRIprep. Is there a way to do this in Dcm2niix or Dcm2Bids? or does fMRIprep somehow automatically do this?

Thanks,

Jen

Hi Jen,

I believe you can just set the number of —dummy-scans to be 4 in your fmriprep command. If not, I think FSL’s fslroi can do something similar to your nifti files. Alternatively you can process as normal and use one-hot encoded vectors in your design matrices to exclude the first four volumes from further analysis (similar to how motion outliers are treated).

Hope this helps,
Steven

Hi Steven

I have the same question. and I did this by setting the number of --dummy-scans to be 4 in my fmriprep commnand. However the output of preproc_bold file still have the full time points/volumes (240) rather than the expected 236 times points. Maybe I misunderstood the ‘–dummy-scans’ option?
and is it necessary to delete the first few dummy time points? Some articles do this and some don’t. and if I deleted them after preprocess, does it make sense? because dummy scans have impacts on slice timing correction.

Thank you!
Jun

He @wenjun and welcome to Neurostars!

Have you looked in the resulting confounds.tsv files? --dummy-scans should add column regressors that you can use to regress out the dummy scans in your first level models.

It depends on what your analysis and task (or no-task) design is, there is not one golden rule.

I would not delete alter your preprocessed nifti files, because then there will be a mismatch between your scan length and confounds file length.

Do they? I though slice timing correction is a within-volume operation, so dummy scans would not have an impact on the scans afterwards.

Best,
Steven

Hi Steven,

Thank you for the time reply :smiley:
Now I get it.