Running MRIQC with docker

Hi, Im new to docker and new to MRIQC.

I would like to use MRIQC on data that we are currently collecting and I have two main questions about efficient and proper uses of this BIDS app:

1. I encountered errors when using the docker commands on the MRIQC documentation website that run the Poldrack lab MRIQC image/container (apologies for my unfamiliarity with correct lingo here). But the docker commands provided on GitHub that run the BIDS-App version from the BIDS/mriqc container work well. How can I identify the version I am using from the BIDS-App version, and how do I ensure that this same version is used for MRIQC on the remaining participants in my study?

2. My study collects multiple fMRI scans across a period of time. If I chose to run MRIQC on the data from session 1 before collecting the remaining sessions, is there a way for MRIQC to skip sessions that already have QC metrics written in the specified output directory (when I run MRIQC on subsequent sessions)? Currently, it reruns all sessions in the subject’s BIDS directory.

Thanks!
-Kim

You can run

docker run -it --rm bids/mriqc --version

and

docker run -it --rm poldracklab/mriqc --version

However, if you copied here your errors, maybe we can find an explanation (or at the very least, what are the actual commands you are trying?).

If you keep the work directory intact, MRIQC will try to rerun all sessions but find the first one cached (and it will not be processed).

Alternatively, there is the input argument --session-id that will allow you to filter out sessions (was merged here https://github.com/poldracklab/mriqc/pull/612).

Thanks @oesteban for the quick reply!

I gave the poldracklab container another shot and its currently running. Being a docker newbie, I didn’t realize I needed to use the full path to my data regardless of my current working directory.

Best

I’m also having an issue with the MRIQC docker image.

$ docker pull bids/mriqc