Subcortical Surface Based Morphology

Dear community,

I am relatively new to this research area, particularly around surface morphology, so I apologise for any basic errors that I might make.

In my research I am currently looking at the integration of cortical and subcortical features for creating Morphological Similarity Networks (MSNs). I have found a lot of research using MSNs focusing on cortical surface maps, and excluding subcortical regions. I suppose this may be due to the way tools like freesurfer process these (vertex for cortex, and volume for subcortical) separately…
>Is this the main reason why they are often not included? And if not, is this due to fundamental differences in cortical and subcortical areas?

I have my data processed with freesurfer recon-all, and plan to use freesurfer tools to extract features such as thickness, volume, curvature, and surface area. I can currently do this with for the aparc cortical regions, but not for the aseg subcortical regions. I have identified a couple of possible methods and resources which may work:

1. Extract volumetric features, from both anatomical T1w, and DWI microstructural metrics for cortical and subcortical areas (i.e. VBM).

2. Convert subcortical regions to surface regions i.e. with vol2surf, but I am unsure if this is suitable for my use case. I have also identified surfmoroph, and mTBM which are external to freesurfer and require further conversion from other filetypes to freesurfer acceptable formats.

3. Use a separate tool than freesufer that might enable subcortical surface maps internally. ← I am currently unare of any…

4. Process surface tissue maps, and then segment surface cortical and subcortical regions from this (i.e. like in this work).

>Does anyone have any thoughts about these methods?