Using nipype without Docker

Hey folks,

I am completely new to nipype (and also to docker) and would like to switch over to it in order to avoid working with different softwares differently. It seems like a lot of nipype users seem to use docker in order to run their analyses. However, my IT department doesn’t want to install docker on the server which I am working on (where my data and software is stored).

So, what I did was to start simple and to just install nipype on my personal machine (Windows 10) using:

conda install --channel conda-forge nipype

I also have MATLABR2020a and SPM12 installed on my machine. I just wanted ro run a super simple toy example where one single image is smoothed:

import nipype.interfaces.spm as spm
smooth = spm.Smooth()
smooth.inputs.in_files = "path/to/my/nifti_file.nii"
smooth.inputs.fwhm = [4, 4, 4]
smooth.run() 

Two things to that:

1.) First of all I got an error (which might be related to this issue on GitHub):

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\base\core.py", line 375, in run
    self._check_version_requirements(self.inputs)

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\base\core.py", line 275, in _check_version_requirements
    if names and self.version:

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\spm\base.py", line 358, in version
    info_dict = Info.getinfo(

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\spm\base.py", line 227, in getinfo
    out = mlab.run()

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\base\core.py", line 419, in run
    runtime = self._run_interface(runtime)

File "C:\Users\Johannes.Wiesner\.conda\envs\csp\lib\site-packages\nipype\interfaces\matlab.py", line 170, in _run_interface
    runtime = super(MatlabCommand, self)._run_interface(runtime)