Weird circles on standard deviation map visuel reports MRIQC

Hi there,

I’m new to MRIQC and I need your help on a little issue with my first run.

On the standard deviation map of my visual reports for my fMRI, I’m having those weird circles. For some subjects, they are really there and for others they are almost invisible.
Here a screenshot of this issue.

Do you have any idea what it could be and what it could mean ? Do you think it could be problematic for further analysis ?

Thanks for your help.

1 Like

They look like some severe ghosting, which will most certainly affect whatever analysis you will do.

I do not believe there is any way to mitigate that artifact unfortunately.

2 Likes

I concur - this looks like serious ghosting (see links in https://mvpa.blogspot.com/search?q=crescents for some more info). Is this a multiband or other accelerated sequence? That could explain the “coaster rings” type effect - see https://practicalfmri.blogspot.com/2016/12/use-of-split-slice-grappa-aka-leak.html#more.

2 Likes

Dear all,

Many thanks for your answers. Indeed, we acquired the data with a multi band acquisition (Multi Band MB2 GRAPPA iPAT2 with TR = 1430).
My concern is that when I am taking a look at the images with a classic viewer (fsleyes) I don’t see the ghosting effect which occurs only in the standard deviation map from mriqc.

That’s why I am a little bit confused …

Please let me know if you have any further question.

Best,

Nathan.

It’s normal for some types of artifacts to show up in standard deviation (or tSNR) images much more clearly than single frames - that’s why it’s important to calculate them. I’d guess that the ringing in one direction is from the multiband, and the other from the GRAPPA (which are presumably at right angles to each other).