Why are my brains so big?

Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student who is relatively new to neuroscience and am using fmriPrep and AFNI for my processing and analyses. I ran my data through fmriPrep with no errors, and I got all the way to first levels before I noticed that a participant’s brain was much larger than the underlay I was using (MNI 152). I noticed that all my participants were like this, and so all of my results appear as if they are outside of MNI space! Anyone mind helping me figure out the best approach to this? In case it helps, I pasted the 3dInfo output for the fmriPrep-processed bold below:

Dataset File: sub-001_task-framing_run-1_bold_space-MNI152NLin2009cAsym_preproc.nii.gz
Identifier Code: NII_3oWF8omGHyiSncZWxeEJvg Creation Date: Wed Mar 4 15:41:52 2020
Template Space: TLRC
Dataset Type: Echo Planar (-epan)
Byte Order: LSB_FIRST {assumed} [this CPU native = LSB_FIRST]
Storage Mode: NIFTI
Storage Space: 379,979,600 (380 million) bytes
Geometry String: “MATRIX(-3,0,0,96,0,-3,0,132,0,0,3,-78):65,77,65”
Data Axes Tilt: Plumb
Data Axes Orientation:
first (x) = Left-to-Right
second (y) = Posterior-to-Anterior
third (z) = Inferior-to-Superior [-orient LPI]
R-to-L extent: -96.000 [R] -to- 96.000 [L] -step- 3.000 mm [ 65 voxels]
A-to-P extent: -96.000 [A] -to- 132.000 [P] -step- 3.000 mm [ 77 voxels]
I-to-S extent: -78.000 [I] -to- 114.000 [S] -step- 3.000 mm [ 65 voxels]
Number of time steps = 292 Time step = 2.00000s Origin = 0.00000s

I appreciate anyone helping out a neuro newbie!

-D

Does this effect appear in fMRIPrep’s reports?

Thanks for the response! Just to make sure I’m understanding you right, are you referring to the HTML files? If so, everything looks fine; nothing looks like it is overly big, and there aren’t any errors…

Do you mean the T1 structure image looks bigger, or the fMRI image looks bigger? If it is the latter, I suspect it is because there is (possibly) CSF above the cortical surface. It usually appears quite bright.