BIDS with histology data

Hi everyone, I’m a student in NeuroPoly Lab at Polytechnique Montreal. We are looking into BIDS for histology and would like to start a conversation with the community. Here is an example of the structure we propose for handling histology data. Comments and feedback are welcome!
Best,
Marie-Helene

1 Like

Hi @mariehbourget

Welcome to NeuroStars and thank you for your interest in starting a conversation around extending BIDS into histology!

Perhaps posting over in the bids-specification GitHub repository issues section to get the conversation going - this area is more trafficked by our standardization community.

I found a post from a previously interested colleague asking about BIDS histology - may be beneficial to reach out.

Thank you,
Franklin

1 Like

This looks like a great start! I like the list of modalities, which looks consistent with how BIDS approaches it.

From a quick look, here are some thoughts:

• You’ll probably also want to consider any metadata relevant to the interpretation of an image. For instance, perhaps certain microscope vendors, models or settings would be worth recording.

• For histology, stains and dyes might be worth promoting into the filename to help distinguish things. In MRI, we have ceagent (contrast-enhancing agent), which might be close enough semantically to be reused here, for example, sub-01_ceagent-nissl_OM.tiff.

• I’m not really up on my histology, so this may be a dumb suggestion, but if there’s only one way to image a given stain or dye, it’s possible that it would make more sense to promote these to the level of modality, instead of SEM/TEM/OM/CARS.

• Organ or structure might be worth promoting into the filename as well.