CPAC - WM and GM masks problem

Hello,

I am new to fMRI data analysis and I would like to ask a question about the quality of the masks I am obtaining.

I run CPAC on a patient using the default parameters, and opening the files

space-MNI152NLin6ASym_label-GM_mask.nii.gz (see the GIF below)

sub-paziente1-ses-1-space-MNI152_WM

and

space-MNI152NLin6ASym_label-WM_mask.nii.gz (see the GIF below)

sub-paziente1-ses-1-space-MNI152_GM

I noticed that both of them present some parts that shouldn’t be there, like parts of the skull.

However, if for example I look at the (functional) image task-func1_space-MNI152NLin6ASym_reg-default_desc-smZstd1_reho.nii.gz

the artifact are not present and it seems there is nothing wrong with it.

Nonetheless, since we have the idea of doing a similar preprocessing to an entire dataset of images, and thus a control for each generated output is not feasible, I wanted to ask whether there is an automatic way of checking this masks in order to understand if CPAC worked well, producing masks without artifacts.

Also, is there any way to know if these kinds of artifacts can affect the analysis outputs?

I thank you in advance for your help!

Hi, thank you for reaching out!

I know you said you used default settings, but could you provide your pipeline file just so I can see? The non-skullstripped image should not be going through segmentation, so there might be an issue with the skullstripping settings.

I wanted to ask whether there is an automatic way of checking this masks in order to understand if CPAC worked well, producing masks without artifacts.
Also, is there any way to know if these kinds of artifacts can affect the analysis outputs?