Dcm2bids dcm2niix more runs than expected

Hello everyone,

I am very new to BIDS and dcm2bids, the solution may be simpler than I think…
I’m trying to convert my own DICOMs to BIDS-compatible nitfi using dcm2bids. However, something strange happens: dcm2niix extracts and converts more runs than expected (exactly 3 more runs).
Stranger still: I tested the dcm2niix conversion using mricroGL and it gives me the right number of runs.

The only difference I can see is that I used a configuration file in dcm2bids and not in mricoGL. I don’t know if that’s the key…

Here’s the config_file.json file (it’s a test file, more acquisitions will be added) :

{
  "descriptions": [
    {
      "datatype": "anat",
      "suffix": "T1w",
      "criteria": {
        "SeriesDescription": "T1_MPRAGE_AX"
      },
      "sidecar_changes": {
        "ProtocolName": "T1"
      }
    }
  ]
}

The dcm2bids command:

D:\TE_VIDEO_dcm2bids>dcm2bids -d D:\TE_VIDEO_dcm2bids\sourcedata\dicoms -p TE03 -c D:\TE_VIDEO_dcm2bids\code\config_file.json --auto_extract_entities

The dcm2niix command (automatically built & run by dcm2bids):

dcm2niix -b y -ba y -z y -f %3s_%f_%p_%t -o D:\TE_VIDEO_dcm2bids\tmp_dcm2bids\sub-TE03 D:\TE_VIDEO_dcm2bids\sourcedata\dicoms

Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks,

Alex

Hi @Alexandre,

You might need to add more criteria to your config file. For T1s, the series description may not be specific enough as you may need to additionally use the ImageType field to get the specific T1 dicom (for example, the RMS image across echoes).

Best,
Steven

Hi @Steven,

Thanks for your reply.
I revised the config_file.json, including the value found in T1w json file (I had converted DICOM with dcm2niix in mricroGL to obtain json file, as it seems working well).
However, I always got 3 runs.