Different shape, affine between fmriprep processed BOLD image and icbm152 gm mask pulled from nilearn dataset

Dear Neurostar expertise,

Hi, I’m kind of new to fmri analyses and running fmri 1st level analyses, I want to look at the signal only from gray matter, so I pulled a icbm152_gm_mask in nilearn dataset, but I found the shape and affine are different with my fmriprep processed BOLD images.

nilearn code: gm_mask=fetch_icbm152_brain_gm_mask()
GM mask affine:

[[   1.    0.    0.  -98.]
 [   0.    1.    0. -134.]
 [   0.    0.    1.  -72.]
 [   0.    0.    0.    1.]]

GM mask shape:
(197, 233, 189)

The fmriprep processed BOLD image shape and affine:
Resolution (x, y, z): (2.0, 2.0, 2.0, 0.8)
GM mask affine:

[[   2.    0.    0.  -76.]
 [   0.    2.    0. -112.]
 [   0.    0.    2.  -76.]
 [   0.    0.    0.    1.]]

GM mask shape:
(77, 95, 82, 399)

I’m using fMRIPrep-23.2.1, code is as follows:

start=69
end=69
for i in $(seq -f "%03g" $start $end)
do
# List of subjects
#subjects=("008" "021")

#for i in "${subjects[@]}"
#do
 echo "Processing participant sub-$i"
 docker run --rm \
-v "$data_dir":/data:ro \
-v "$license_file":/opt/freesurfer/license.txt \
-v "$output_dir":/out \
-v "$work_dir":/work \
nipreps/fmriprep:23.2.1 \
/data /out participant \
--participant-label $i \
--task-id rest \
--work-dir /work
done

I’m confused that fmriprep supposed to normazlied the BOLD image to MNI space, why the shape and afine would be different?
I currently resample the icbm152_gm_mask to the BOLD resolution and keep the gm mask in BOLD’s shape and affine, Is there any better/usual way to constrict the activation in GM? Any comment would be really really really appreciated, thanks a lotttt! @Steven @effigies @ChrisGorgolewski

Hi @Isabella,