FIR model basis function with Nipype

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the imaging and Nipype world and I’m encountering some problems while trying to do the level 1 stats. Would really appreciate any helps! Thanks in advance!

I’m currently trying to run a FIR model on my data, which has been preprocessed using fMRIprep and smoothed and highpassed using Nipype. I’m using fsl.level1Design to generate my FEAT models. My question is, how should I specify that I do not want any convolution to my design matrix when specifying the basis function?

The help page for fsl.level1Design says the following:
bases: (a dictionary with keys which are ‘dgamma’ and with values
which are a dictionary with keys which are ‘derivs’ and with values
which are a boolean or a dictionary with keys which are ‘gamma’ and
with values which are a dictionary with keys which are ‘derivs’ or
‘gammasigma’ or ‘gammadelay’ and with values which are any value or
a dictionary with keys which are ‘custom’ and with values which are
a dictionary with keys which are ‘bfcustompath’ and with values
which are a unicode string or a dictionary with keys which are
‘none’ and with values which are a dictionary with keys which are
any value and with values which are any value or a dictionary with
keys which are ‘none’ and with values which are None)
name of basis function and options e.g., {‘dgamma’: {‘derivs’:
True}}
I tried to input {‘none’:None}, which is last type of input mentioned above but got a TypeError: ‘NoneType’ object is not iterable. To be sure that the error i got was caused by my basis function input, I changed the input to {‘dgamma’: {‘derivs’:False}} and the workflow started to work. However, I do not want to have any hrf convolved with my design matrix.

Just to sum up, the question is how should i specify the basis function, which should be impulse only, for a FIR model using fsl.level1Design? Thanks in advance!

2 Likes