fmriprep extract time series for adolescents (MNIpediatric)

Hi all,

I’m a trainee & fmri novice so I’d really appreciate any assistance!
My goal is to extract time series from an adolescent task-based scan for network analysis in R.

For fmriprep, I see that there is a pediatric MNI atlas I can use as the output space. However, I’m not sure how well this will work with other tools.

1. First, I was going to --use-syn-sdc for fieldmap-less distortion correction, but I believe I read this functions in a standard MNI atlas. If so, would this introduce some error?

2. Also, I’ve seen a previous suggestion to follow this tutorial to extract time series. However, I do not see the MNIpediatric atlas within nilearn’s database, only the standard MNI152. So, I’m not sure how well this approach would work with my adolescent dataset if I use the MNI-pediatric atlas in fmriprep.

• A. Alternatively, I’ve had thoughts of using each subject’s T1 space as the output space, but I can’t seem to find a workflow I could follow to extract time series downstream if I did that.

• B. Another thought I’ve had was using the fmridenoise tool and then extracting time series, but I’ve been warned about potentially re-introducing artifacts (https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1002/hbm.24528) if I use that approach.

Thank you for any advice!

1. No, using syn-sdc will not cause an error if your output space is different. The SDC calculation is performed in the standard MNI space, but the resulting fieldmaps are warped to whatever output space you specify.