Issue Running fmriprep with Singularity Image

Hello,

This is my first attempt using fmriprep with a Singularity image, and I am running into an issue.

I’m running this on an HPC (Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 6.10 Santiago) that doesn’t allow Docker, so I’m using Singularity 2.5.2-dist.

Using the installation manual I prepared the image with the following:

singularity build $HOME/fmriprep-1.1.3.simg docker://poldracklab/fmriprep:1.1.3

I now have fmriprep-1.1.3.simg in my home directory, I then tried to run fmriprep on some of my BIDS-formatted data:

singularity run $HOME/fmriprep-1.1.3.simg \
$HOME/fMRI_data/ADM5/1032 $HOME/fMRI_data/ADM5 \
participant \
--participant-label sub-1032

I then receive this error message:
ERROR : Unknown image format/type: /N/u/dlevitas/Karst/fmriprep-1.1.3.simg
ABORT : Retval = 255

Thanks for the assistance.

Dan

@nikkibytes might be able to help you

Seems like

singularity build $HOME/fmriprep-1.1.3.simg docker://poldracklab/fmriprep:1.1.3

did not finish up happily.

Please, try again making sure the exit code is 0 (success). BTW, it could be a great time tu update to 1.1.4

singularity build $HOME/fmriprep-1.1.4.simg docker://poldracklab/fmriprep:1.1.4

Thank you for the help! I tried re-running with version 1.1.4, but after waiting for roughly an hour it didn’t seem to have finished. When I last checked it was showing this:

WARNING: Building container as an unprivileged user. If you run this container as root
WARNING: it may be missing some functionality.
Building Singularity image...

Does it commonly take awhile to build the image, or am I doing something wrong?

It is usually not as long as 1h. In the order of several minutes.

Hi Dan,

New reply on an old post… Did you ever resolve the “unknown image format” issue from last summer? I’m brand new to fmriprep and have run into the exact same problem on my HPC. In looking through the comments it seems like you never got a satisfactory answer. Thanks!

-Adam